Do you like pasta as much as I do? I think I could eat it every day. Bechamel, pesto, bolognese, garlic, tomatoes, seafood, minced meet… there are so many different things you can have pasta with and it’s going to be absolutely gorgeous! This time I didn’t plan to spend much time in the kitchen, as I was going to finish some other projects: to crochet a couple of baskets for my shop Hooked House and to take a number of pictures for on-line magazine Refine where I am a regular contributor.  We are about to launch Issue 4 next week. I promise, I’ll share the link when it’s ready.

So, I decided to cook something quick and simple for my family, that’s why I made up my mind to make pasta. Some seafood looked at me every time I opened the fridge, so I said: “alright, alright, it’s your turn this time, we are going to eat you!” I took out the mussels, mushrooms, pesto, pappardelle and got started.

50 g per person pappardelle or any other pasta

200 g seafood (I had mussels)

150 g mushrooms (I had champignons)

100 g cheddar cheese

3 tbsp butter

some pesto

some oil (vegetable or olive)

1 cup milk

2 tbsp flour

salt, pepper

parsley

1. Bring a large pan of water to the boil and cook the pasta according to the pack instructions. Drain the pasta, return it to the pan and toss with some pesto.

2. Make sure the mushrooms are clean by gently brushing any dirt off with a clean, damp cloth or soft brush. Add two tablespoons of olive oil to a large pan and gently saute the mushrooms over a medium heat for about 10 minutes. Add some salt.

3. Now let us get started to make our sauce: put the butter into a saucepan, on a gentle heat, and melt it. Once the butter has melted, add the flour whisking constantly. Whisk until all the flour is coated with the butter. Now gradually pour the milk and whisk until smooth, white liquid has formed with no lumps. Reduce the heat and simmer the sauce gently for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally, until it is smooth and thick. Season with the salt and pepper.

4. Put the mushrooms and seafood into the sauce. Stir and simmer for 5 minutes more.

5. Divide the pasta between the serving dishes and top with the sauce. Sprinke with some parsley.

And for the dessert I again chose a very simple dish, the recipe of which I am glad to share with you.

Fried Pineapple With Ice-cream

1 pineapple

2 tbsp butter

2 tbsp icing sugar

400 g ice-cream

mint leaves for decoration

1. Peel and cut the pineaaple into rings. Discard the core.

2. Sprinkle with icing sugar and fry in a pan with some butter. Fry the pineapple until nicely coloured on both sides.

3. Pile the fried pineapple rings on serving plates and top with some scooped ice-cream. Decorate with mint leaves.

Well, as long as I have mentioned about the crocheted baskets that I was making, I would like to show them to you. These ones and more are available in my shop Hooked House on Etsy.

And a couple of brooches

